Abritti Competition – Durga Puja – 22 October 2015

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This year, for the first time in my life, I participated in the Abriti (Bangla poetry recitation) competition at Timarpur Durga Puja. I won the 2nd prize! My poem was ‘Swapne’ from Tagore’s Sanchaita, a collection of original poems compiled by Tagore himself…The opening lines are,”Sundoro, tumi eschechile aaj prate/Orunboron Parijaat loye haate…” meaning, “O Beautiful One, you came today morning/blessing me with sunlight, sunflower in your hand…I understood this poem much better when I saw this tree in Timarpur standing so beautifully with a halo of sunlight. I just couldn’t resist taking its pic! Just click on the pic below. Really, without Sukhangshu’s help and encouragement this wouldn’t have been possible…

Exif_JPEG_420

Leave a Reply

