Culinary Experiment No.2 – Dalia Tikki

About 5 years ago, I bought a packet of pre-roasted dalia (coarsely ground wheat) and made porridge with it. My family didn’t like it at all and the idea of making some other dalia dish, such as dalia khichdi, didn’t seem to be worth it. So the jarful of dalia remained un-utilized and its presence kept on tormenting me. Being a home-maker, I hate to see food items getting wasted. Every grain, after all, takes a lot of resources and efforts to create.

Yesterday, I checked this jar and to my utter amazement, I found the Dalia as fresh as it was 5 years ago! An idea then took shape in my mind. Inspired by my recent experiment with Murmure, I decided to make Dalia tikkis. As I had expected, they were a great hit! I had some pudina chutney in my fridge, which I had made the previous day. The two together made great company.

The best part of it, as far as I was concerned, was that I could turn an unused food item to something of great value. My jar of Dalia is empty now and I feel as though a great burden has been lifted off my shoulders.

Here are the step-by-step pics.

Step 1: Grind roasted dalia in the mixie and mix this powder with the boiled potatoes.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step 2: Add spices (salt, chilli powder, amchur, ginger-garlic paste), cut green chillies, green coriander leaves, chopped onion) and mix into a dough.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step 3: The dough is ready now.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step4: Take out balls from this dough and turn them into tikkis.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step 5: Deep fry the tikkis as I did. But if you wish, you may shallow-fry them on a non-stick pan.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step 6: Keep turning them over till they turn golden-brown on all sides and take them out.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step 7: Place the tikkis on tissue paper to drain out excess oil. Serve them with green chutney or any other dip of your choice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

