The Art Of Minting

 

Aqua Y2 Ultra_20160530_083107.jpg

It gives me great pleasure to announce that I have finally learnt the art of growing mint in a pot, starting from a mere branch sans any roots or leaves.I spend my mornings these days gazing happily at the young mint leaves sprouting from the greenish-brown shoots sticking out proudly from the soil…

I look forward to making mint chutney in future with my own home-grown mint…

Here are the step-by-step pics…

Step 1: Choose a thick stem and slice it diagnally as you can see here.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step 2: Plant it gently in the pot in a diagonal position.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Step 3: Press the area around the stem on the soil to remove the air bubbles

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

Step 4: Water the pot and press again like this.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

Step 5: Just be patient and take care that the pot is never dry. After a few days, you will be rewarded with new leaves like the ones you see in the pic. Not all branches will survive though. Some will wither and dry.

Exif_JPEG_420
Exif_JPEG_420

 

3 thoughts on “The Art Of Minting”

  1. Well explained. I remember putting the thick stems in water for few hours before planting them in soil. My mali baba had told me to do so 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing this. I will try this next time…The shoots I used were already 24 hours old and stayed that way untended in the kitchen. I was pleasantly surprised to see leaves appearing from them inside the pot a week later

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

