The Story Of An Alien

lizard guest.png

Last night, I had this strange lizard for company. With huge, black eyes she stared at me while I took out rice for dinner from the big steel canister kept on the low stool above her. In spite of all the noise I made during opening and closing of the jar, she remained where she was without winking and budging from her position…

Sometimes reptiles behave very strangely, don’t they? Well, this was what I thought that night.

Here is an account of what happened subsequently…

The following night, however, I had to change my perception. As soon as I opened the door, I was alarmed to see that the same lizard was still there in the same pose. My daughter Nanni suggested that she really must be dead. I had no other option left but to bring a broom and nudge her with it. She remained passive and now she was beginning to stink too. Yes, I was now absolutely sure that she was dead. This was the first time I had seen a dead lizard from so close quarters and I wondered how she could have fallen into this state.

Nanni exclaimed, “Mom, don’t you remember? Yesterday we had called in Pest Control guy to get rid of termites inside our guest bedroom. This lizard must have died because of the fumes from the poisonous spray!”

I felt bad, but I was helpless and I had to get rid of this lizard. Gently, I picked up the piece of paper which had the lizard’s corpse and placed it inside the dustbin kept outside in our balcony. As chance would have it, the dustbin was full right up to its brim as the garbage guy hadn’t come that day. Next morning, when I came out on the balcony, my gaze fell on the dustbin. The paper had fallen out of the dustbin and was floating around with the morning breeze. The lizard had disappeared. Perhaps it was gobbled up by a cat…

Now brace yourself for some more pics below of the dead lizard. They are not meant for the weak-hearted. Photography, I must say, makes you callous and you tend to look at everything in wide-eyed wonder. Nothing shocks you any more.

lizard 2

 

lizard 3

As you can see below, the lizard just disappeared!

lizard 4 paper

Leave a Reply

