A Chair In The Sky

 

chair in sky 2.png

When I first saw this chair staring into the tantalizingly wide, open, cloudy sky, I found myself overcome by a tumult of emotions. I tried to imagine how someone might feel while sitting on that chair, the whizzing past of pigeons, the sound of flapping of wings, the intermingling of clouds, the breeze brushing past the nostrils, and that heady feeling of playing God, of being far above all earthly concerns…

Out of curiosity, I did a google search of the words ‘chair in sky’ and I was pleasantly  surprised to find these wonderful songs with interesting lyrics.

  1. Joni Mitchell’s song (http://jonimitchell.com/music/song.cfm?id=96).

But now Manhattan holds me
To a chair in the sky
With the bird in my ears
And boats in my eyes
Going by

2. Regina Spektor’s Folding Chair (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cfUb2-Mhe4g)

Come and open up your folding chair next to me
My feet are buried in the sand and there’s a breeze
There’s a shadow you can’t see my eyes
And the sea is just a wetter version of the skies

3. Jeff Mosier’s Man In the Chair in the sky (https://www.reverbnation.com/themosierbrothers/song/5764092-man-in-chair-sky-jeff-mosier

Man in the chair in the sky

Just do what he says, and don’t ask why

If you’re a bad little boy you’ll catch on fire

It’s the man in the chair in the sky, man in the chair in the sky.

Every head bowed and every eye closed

Sittin’ up straight in my Sunday cloths

Nobody smiles like Jesus and I wonder why ?

I guess they’re scared of the man in the sky.

Do you know of any other songs with these words ‘Chair in the sky?’ I would love to know. I look forward to reading your comments.

Here is another pic of this chair looking at a clear sky…

chair-in-sky

 

Leave a Reply

