Fun With Sour Apples

Grapes can be sour sometimes; like so many other things in life. You just need to be patient and stay positive, that’s all. But what about apples?

Last week, I bought a kilo of red, crisp looking apples. I got a shock of my life when I dug my teeth into one of them the other day. It tasted more like tamarind and less like an apple!

But I didn’t have the heart to throw those glamorous apples into the dustbin, so I thought, “Let me use them in creating something new.”

Here are a few recipes. They all turned out to be very yummy, to my pleasant surprise!

1.Apple chutney

a. Cut one sour apple and one tomato into small slices. Grind these in a mixi with some water, gur, salt, half teaspoon each of whole jeera and coriander seeds, and 2-3 green chillies.

b. Store the chutney in a glass container. Serve it with hot paranthas.

Here are the pics.

2. Sweet-sour chick peas curry:

a. Grate two sour apples.

b. Fry onions in 2 tablespoonfulls of oil till they turn pink. Add one tomato.

c. Once they turn into a paste, add grated apples and some chilli powder accorfing to your taste into the karahi.

d. Then add the boiled chick peas and adjust the viscosity of the gravy by adding more water if required. You can also add some grated ginger for extra sharp taste.

You can use this apple-tomato-onion masala for many other recipes too. I used it for ma sabut-rajma gravy, a typical punjabi favorite…

I look forward to reading your comments.

39 thoughts on “Fun With Sour Apples”

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that,
    this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

    Like

  2. This will be a terrific blog, would you be interested in doing an interview with regards to just how you developed
    it? If so e-mail me!I’d always wish to be kept up to date on fresh blog posts on this
    website, saved!You have quite interesting points.

    What a fantastic site you have here.

    Like

  3. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The clarity to your publish is simply excellent and i can assume
    you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to seize your feed to
    stay up to date with coming near near post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

    Like

  4. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out a
    lot. I’m hoping to provide something back and aid others such as you helped me.

    Like

  5. whoah this weblog is magnificent i like reading your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You understand, a lot
    of individuals are looking around for this info, you could aid them greatly.

    Like

  6. Pingback: URL
  7. Pingback: cpnsonline login
  8. Hello there, I discovered your web site by way of Google at the
    same time as searching for a similar topic, your website
    came up, it looks great. I have bookmarked it
    in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I’m going to be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful
    in the event you continue this in future. A lot of folks shall be
    benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Shemale.UK
  10. I happen to be discovering for a little bit for any excellent articles or blog posts on this type of area .
    Searching in Yahoo I finally discovered this website.
    Reading this information made me happy that I’ve found precisely what I needed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

