Birth Of A Beetroot Tikki

A few days ago, I made a beetroot chutney. It was meant to be an innovation dish. It had everything right when I began; the beetroot, green coriander leaves, green chillies, salt, jaggery (gur), and tamarind paste (imli). But when I checked the taste of the end-product, all the four main flavors, sweet, sour, hot, and salty turned out to be in excess! Even the maroon color from the beetroot had a darker shade than normal.

It was, I think, a day when I didn’t quite feel okay and my heart and mind were at loggerheads with each other. Things rarely ever work out when you are in this kind of a state of mind.

The chutney, to my great disappointment, got no takers and it sat in the fridge, unwanted and unloved. But I didn’t want to discard it. So, after much deliberation, I used it to make another dish, a plateful of beetroot and potatoes tikkis. This time, I was lucky. My family loved them and the tikkis vanished that very day itself!

Here are the step-by-step pics.

1. Add the beetroot chutney paste to mashed potatoes, chirwa (flattened rice), bread slices. I didn’t add any spices, not even salt, as the chutney already had far too much of everything. The dough that you see here has got all tastes balanced out.

 

A7 IMG_20170521_084603

 

2. I made balls out of the dough and pressed them to make tikkis like the ones you see here.

A8 IMG_20170521_085728

 

3. Shallow-fry the tikkis on a nonstick frying pan till they turn brown on both sides.

A9 IMG_20170521_085728

 

4. Here is a pic of the first lot of tikkis. Enjoy!

A10 IMG_20170521_085728

 

Leave a Reply

